Obesity Rates are Up.

USA TODAY — More than 75 million adult Americans – 1 in 4 – are officially obese, with new government data showing that nine states had obesity rates of 30% or more last year. In 2007 the figure was three, and in 2000 it was zero.

 In its report released today, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention called obesity an “epidemic” and “a major public health threat.”

Overall, non-Hispanic black women and Hispanics have the highest rates of obesity – 41.9% and 30.7%, respectively. Among states, Mississippi had the highest rate, 34%. Joining it in the over-30 crowd were Alabama, Arkansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee and West Virginia. —

Although there are some overweight/obese individuals out there who lead active and healthy lives.  Obesity does take it toll on the body.  For the most part I was pretty  healthy up until two years leading to my surgery when the obesity finally started to affect me and really put a strain on my body. 

I started to have problems with IBS (irritable bowel syndrome) that almost made me a prisoner in my own home, later my hips started to deteriorate and unfortunately I continue to have problems with my hip as a result.  My Blood Pressure was out of control and I was taking multiple meds to keep it down and although I still have High Blood Pressure it has been under control since my surgery and only requires 1 pill a day.  My asthma which I’ve had since I was five years old was also an issue and considering that Diabetes runs in my family I had also been diagnosed with pre diabetes. 

There is so much physical stuff that happens to your body when your excessively over weight or as they say morbidly obese.  And there is also so much psychological stuff that goes on to.  The self-esteem, the teasing if you’re an overweight kid.   And yes there are people out there who although obese have great self-esteem so I speak from a personal stance when it comes to obesity and how it affected me. 

One of the issues that hits me deeply however is obesity among kids.  As this new technological age comes into full swing our kids are outside and moving less and less.  They stay in playing videos, watching tv and chatting on the internet.  Not only has this in my opinion affected the rate of obesity but it’s also affected their socialization.  Something as parents, if you are one that is, need to take into consideration.

In order to curb this “Epidemic” as they are calling we need start with our kids.  Get them outside, get them socializing, take them to the park/playground. Give them healthy snacks and for Gods sake I don’t mean to tell them they can never have a cupcake or cookie again (that angle often backfires). But I’m sure you get the drift start with the kids. 

Leave a Reply

